The Cloister Bell

After several disappointments this season, Steven Moffat finally proved why he is my favorite Doctor Who storyteller. Although Russell Davies is great at the epic story, Moffat weaves tales full of twists and turns and surprises, as evidenced by the two part season ender: Pandorica/Big Bang.

Beginning with the reveal that the Doctor is perceived as the most dangerous creature in the Universe, through all of the back and forth time travel, the story came together in a delightful way, which also shed light on the hints and clues sprinkled throughout the season.

Watching the entire season again after the spoilers have been revealed in these episodes, adds a whole new dimension to the viewing pleasure. Even the 11th Hour, which I originally found disappointing, now looks a lot better, right down to the ringing of the Cloister Bell when the Tardis engines threaten to overheat.

Big Bang really made sense, in a Doctor Who kind of way, with the Universe disappearing and all. The only thing I found a bit hard to believe was the Doctor’s return at the end because Amy remembered him. I mean, he was supposed to be in the Void between Universes. But then again, it wasn’t all that far fetched when you consider how Martha Jones brought the Doctor back to his youthful form, by spending a year asking people around the world to invoke the Doctor’s name in The Last of the Time Lords.

As for the rewind, did you notice what happened in the forest with the Angels? It was the rewind Doctor who was there, telling Amy to remember !! Fantastic !

Meanwhile Matt Smith has moved way up my list of favorite Doctors. David Tennant, of course, will always be No. 1, but I love Smith’s timing in delivering his lines. “I wear a fez now. Fez’s are cool.” Even Rory impressed me with his comedic delivery: “Well, I died and turned into a Roman. It’s very distracting.”

The series this season has also been very obvious in it’s homage to the earlier Doctors. While David Tennant was subtle with his Tom Baker “Well…” and long coat, as was Peter Davison with his unsuccessful attempt to play Patrick Troughton’s recorder, Matt Smith was a bit more obvious, flashing William Hartnell’s library card, and taking dips in the Tardis’ swimming pool.

The Tardis, itself is beginning to show more structure. One can only hope to once again see the Cloister which first made an appearance in Tom Baker’s Logopolis, and was last seen in the Paul McGann film.

Tennant, meanwhile heard the warning of the Cloister Bell in about 3 or 4 episodes, including the Children in Need espisode, Time Crash, where he and Peter Davison join forces to fix the Tardis.

With Doctor Who ringing a satisfying note in the final episodes of Series 5, it promises to be long wait until Series 6. Thankfully there are a lot of old shows to catch up on.

The Moral of the Story is: If you have a Cloister Bell ringtone, you have been watching way too much Doctor Who.

About Łowiczanka

I'm a former dancer who loves all things Polish, especially the music... whether it be folk songs and dances from Poland, or polka music from Chicago. Oh, yes, and I love pierogi !
This entry was posted in Doctor Who, Sci Fi and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Cloister Bell

  1. Dejah Thoris says:

    Wow, I really enjoyed this episode, too. I also like River Song, but I think she is just way too old for the Doctor. I hope that when they finally pair her up with him, that an older actor is playing the Doctor.

  2. Persia Fasahl says:

    Reading this blog and others about the Big Bang episode of Doctor Who makes me laugh. I mean, everyone readily accepts time travel and the reversal of the destruction of the Universe, but then they knit-pick about how the Tardis screen and the fish lady in Venice both refer to the ‘silence’ that is to come, yet we still haven’t experienced the silence. Ah, the world of Doctor Who!

  3. Joe says:

    I can’t wait to go back and watch the entire series, now that I know where it’s going. I really did notice the difference in the Doctor during “Flesh and Stone” (see my blog entry for that episode: http://wp.me/pFs3T-CN ) though of course I could not guess what was going on, LOL.

    When I was watching, I simply assumed that the “Silence” that Prisoner Zero predicted actually came about when all the rest of the universe ceased to exist. I figured on the large scale, silence had fallen. Now I hear that the Silence will be an adversary in the next season. If that’s true, I’m willing to give Moffat the benefit of the doubt.

    The repeated appearances of the First Doctor were very welcome shout-outs the the fans, and Matt Smith has rocketed up my personal list of favorite Doctors. How long until the Christmas special?!?!?!?!

  4. Bodybuilding.com says:

    I love your blog, you should add an RSS feed feature so I can get automatic notifications of new blogs. If you set one up please email me! i will bookmark you for now. Again Excellent Blog!

  5. DTGC says:

    Excellent post!

Comments are closed.