Jordan

Passing through the Sikh, we emerged, looking upon the facade of the Treasury, rising high above us. The rose-colored rock-cut building marks the entrance to the lost Nabatean city of Petra.

Feeling much like the explorer who disguised himself as a Bedouin to discover the secret, the treck through the narrow gorge which rises 80 meters above head itself was spectacular. And the reward was awe-inspiring. The Treasury was only the first of the many architectural wonders of this centuries old site.

Meanwhile, Jordan offers much more, from the Roman ruins we explored at Jerash, to the Ottoman Village where we stayed, from the delicious ice cream we tasted in Amman, to the mud baths we took before floating in the Dead Sea.

2005-12-11-025a 2005-12-11-105a Gayle & Bobo  in Jordan Jordan 97

2005-12-11-099 cropped

About Łowiczanka

I'm a former dancer who loves all things Polish, especially the music... whether it be folk songs and dances from Poland, or polka music from Chicago. Oh, yes, and I love pierogi !
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

115 Responses to Jordan

  1. Those are some crazy spectacular photos! Thank you so much for sharing … beautiful!

    🙂

  2. supersitepk says:

    it is really amazing and so beautiful place and fantastic picture congrats on F P
    Thanks for sharing

  3. Dev J Haldar says:

    Hello Lowiczanka
    Am planning a quick get-away to Jordan and I is sheer coincidence that I chanced upon your blog. Thank you for the photographs. Beautiful indeed.
    Could you share your travel itinerary and the hotel details with me please? Would be helpful for my planning. My mail id is adsumdev@gmail.com
    Thanx in advance
    Dev

    • Łowiczanka says:

      I traveled with Joy Travel International. Here is their typical Jordan itinerary:
      http://www.joytravelinternational.com/jordan.htm
      Note that it mentions the Taybet Zamman Hotel. It is an old Ottoman village. Very cute, up in the hills.
      Not mentioned in this itinerary is an afternoon spent by the Dead Sea. There was a Spa there, but we made our own mud baths and swam (floated) about.

  4. Lakia Gordon says:

    Beautiful pictures!

  5. bagnidilucca says:

    Great pictures, great place. I want to go there.

  6. eva626 says:

    these are remarkable pictures you took!!! looks like you had a lot of fun and the buildings are so beautiful…congrats on fp’ed

  7. alig68 says:

    Nice!! I was in Petra the day Jordan opened it’s border with Israel in the mid 90’s..Well, actually we didn’t make it as there was a very bad car accident and we ended up spending 3 days in a Jordanian military hospital..I went back a few years later..I live in Tel Aviv..My grandparents are from Lodz and Warsaw:) Keep writing!! Shalom, Alex

  8. Jen says:

    I was just in Petra and Jerash a few months ago, and I LOVED it. Your pictures bring back fun memories =)

  9. Afrovenator says:

    Petra is pretty amazing. It takes you to a different world.

  10. Beautiful pictures. I plan to study in Jordan in the summer, so this entry was really visually inspiring.

  11. enjoibeing says:

    wow! that looks amazing! it looks like the same place transformers was filmed. very historic. the pictures look amazing, great post

  12. Wow–fabulous photos! WOW! And congrats on freshly pressed!

    Not in Haiti anymore and totally sad about it,
    Kathy

  13. TheAuthor says:

    I have always wanted to visit Petra, ever since I first heard of the place. Captivating photographs, really makes me want to go!

  14. Petra has always been a dream of mine. Your pictures are amazing. I would love stay at the Ottoman Village!

  15. saltybi11 says:

    Awesome pictures! Did you feel like Indiana Jones? I would love to see this stuff in person.

  16. lolabees says:

    Thanks for the beautiful photos! This brings back memories of one of my favorite places I’ve ever visited!

  17. petitepaumee says:

    Piekne zdjecia! Gratuluje zdobycia “Freshly Pressed”, fajnie zobaczyc to ze polskie blogi tez moga dostac to wyrozenienie 🙂

  18. James R. Clawson says:

    Great pictures thanks for sharing!

  19. Gorgeous! I’ve always wanted to go to Jordan! Might take a trip after I graduate. Is it really expensive?

  20. Pingback: Encontrei este blog! « Repórter das Arábias

  21. Great pictures, I would love for me an my wife to go one day!!!

  22. wow it just looks fantastic!!

  23. Juan says:

    I’ve always wanted to see the Lost Nabatean city of Petra in person since I saw it featured in Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade. Great pictures!

  24. ronniecruz says:

    Spectacular photos! Jordan is one of the top destinations on my list of places to visit. Thanks for sharing!
    🙂

  25. Looks like an exciting adventure. Definitely adding it to my list of must see places.

  26. whatsaysyou says:

    Cool pictures of Jordan

  27. 4myskin says:

    Wow! That is so cool! Did you feel like Indiana Jones? 🙂

  28. ifang says:

    a very nice pictures, I want to go there

  29. Those pictures look amazing, modern technology doesn’t compare to ancient architecture.

  30. SWK says:

    Never been here. Love the architecture!

  31. janekoont says:

    Amazing…Tks a lot for your sharing.

    Rgds
    Jane

  32. Been to Petra… took the carriage ride. Wrong decision! didn’t got lots of pics, but the place does magificent!

  33. rtcrita says:

    You’ve captured the greatness of these buildings so well! I can’t imagine the impressiveness of them in person. I think I would be in eternal awe of such structures. Thank you for sharing your images.

  34. maru says:

    Nice pics. The first one caught the pink shade so beautifully.
    Referring to Petra, I found this a long time ago: “Match me such a marvel save in Eastern clime, a rose red city half as old as time.“ -Dean Burgeon-

    Congrats for being Freshly Pressed.

  35. maxgames.me says:

    Cool pictures of Jordan

  36. ermafla says:

    I was in Jordan last month, and I loved it! What a wonderful country! I would love to go again. Thanks for sharing those pictures, nice memories 🙂

  37. Alfred Lee says:

    so beautiful place

  38. Indra says:

    Nice…

  39. Katie Gou says:

    Wow, such beautiful architecture! The shots are well taken too. Looks like I have another place to add to my “I should go there!” list.

  40. AryanMolaeimehr says:

    nice place and nice pictures

  41. fanpagers says:

    wow, am going there on my next vacation

  42. fey's diary says:

    Great photos! Nice blog.

  43. free design says:

    wow this is a great place.

  44. salah1974 says:

    Photos are too great. Of course, Jordan is a beautiful and faithful to beautiful tourist places.

  45. hakanimert says:

    i smell history when i look at the pictures. Good job. i advice you to visit Ancient City of Ephesus in Turkey. You ll love it. btw if you are interested in interior design and architecture you can visit my new blog.
    cheers

  46. It's just a web site man! says:

    Great photos. You truly have a great eye. Jordan has has a rich history. I hope to one day see it in person.

    How’s That Latte?

  47. John Zimmer says:

    Hi Lowiczanka,

    Thanks for sharing the beautiful photos. They bring back fond memories. I have been to Jordan, 14 or 15 times. Always for work, but I made sure to find days to visit Petra or Jerash or the Dead Sea or other places. Amman is one of my favourite cities, not because it is beautiful – most of it is actually rather drab – but because of the warmth and hospitality of the people. Jordanians are wonderful.

    Cheers!

    PS – I visited Poland for the first time last year (Poznan) and the Poles were just as warm. They are like Slavic Arabs!

    PSS – Sorry I could not get the correct first letter of your name in this message. I know that it is pronounced like a “w” in English.

  48. wovenstrands says:

    I’m happy you enjoyed my country 🙂

  49. Merci pour cet article .
    Regardez aussi mon site.
    http://desdiamantssoustespieds.wordpress.com/
    Merci pour cet article.

  50. Harold says:

    Beautiful pictures! I hope to get there some day.

  51. Thank you for sharing these on your blog, And your blog is very useful to me.

  52. Istanbulboy says:

    It is so good to see a fellow traveller enjoying the marvels of Petra. I went there in January and was blown away and posted pics on my blog too. Great pics! Thanks!

    Patrick

  53. I was just in Petra and Jerash a few months ago, and I LOVED it. Your pictures bring back fun memories =)

  54. The picture of cave with that hole was fantastic

  55. Berlinboy says:

    I just bumped into your blog and must have met a travel soulmate as I was in Jordan and Egypt too. Check out my post:

    Petra, the rose-red city …

  56. tachojustierung software says:

    I have been absent for a while, but now I remember why I used to love this website. Thanks , I will try and check back more often. How frequently you update your site?

  57. SuefVokelofeFlutlymn says:

    How is it going ?, everyone =)

    My name’s Jimm.
    Today i has joined on your site.
    There is very nice! ))

    I hope – we’ll be associates.
    Cool Jimm

  58. classic says:

    I simply wanted to write down the remark in order to say thanks to you for those fantastic suggestions you are giving out at this web site. Personally I think I’m very blessed to have come across this web page and look forward to a lot more thrilling occasions reading through here. Thank you once more for all the particulars.

  59. Anitra Ottogary says:

    Hiya very nice web site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Superb .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally…I’m satisfied to search out numerous useful information right here within the post, we’d like develop more techniques on this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

  60. Joe Betterman says:

    Undeniably I can imagine what you said. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and outlined out the entire thing without over doing it. Other people could leanr from you. I will probably be back to get more. Thank you

  61. Morgan Janiszewski says:

    Your place is valueble for me. Thanks!…

  62. Knightbridge says:

    Amazing web site you’ve here however i had been curious about if you understood of any community forums that cover exactly the same subjects talked about in this article? Cheers!

  63. Zoey Olsen says:

    Thanks much.

  64. Otto says:

    Great website!

  65. Dallas Los says:

    Looks good, i went ahead and bookmarked it on Digg.com under “Jordan | Do Góry”. Kudos!

  66. RPF says:

    WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..more wait ..

  67. katy homes says:

    I have bookmarked your site, keep up the good work.

  68. UGO says:

    You’re a very intelligent person I am glad info!

  69. Asia Pharma says:

    I see others have copied from this page which you are the original author.

  70. UBC says:

    I strongly agree on you, I hope that others will remember read this page! keep writing mate!

  71. Straathof says:

    Thanks for your time!

  72. ghd says:

    Hello! I’ve been following the blog for a bit now last but not least got the bravery to go forward and provide you with a shout from Houston Tx! Decided to share with you keep in the fantastic job!

  73. Pinter says:

    Hey, good blog, seems a pretty nice platform youre utilizing.

  74. Pullen says:

    This web site has a good amount of extremely useful information regarding it. I appreciate you for sharing it!

  75. Mostiller says:

    Excellent site. A whole lot of useful info here. I’m certainly sending it to many friends ans also sharing in delicious. And obviously, interesting sweat!

  76. Brockel says:

    I’ve been visiting your websites for some time after now and that i always get a gem within your new posts. Appreciate your sharing.

  77. Vernon says:

    i bookmarked it and are time for give it a look other later

  78. Tokihiro says:

    Appreciate you fantastic info I found myself attempting to find these records for my mission.

  79. Melia says:

    I’m impressed, I have to say. Really hardly ever do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and informative. Excellent.

  80. Chieffo says:

    Much thanks.

  81. Nathaniel says:

    I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills and with all the layout on your blog. Are these a paid theme or do you customize it yourself?

  82. Laborin says:

    WONDERFUL post. Thanks for sharing.

  83. Gornick says:

    Your postis valueble to me. Thanks!

  84. Sciavillo says:

    You are so cool, the posts on your blog are super great.

  85. Mundie says:

    I stumbled uppon your web blog and found it informative. Your site’s content is direct, clear, and to the point. I’m planning on taking a look at more of your articles. Keep up the good work!

  86. Machens says:

    You need to write much more about this.

  87. Burkly says:

    Whoa. Fantastic article. Please keep writing because I like your style.

  88. Beck says:

    Muy bueno. Te voy a tener que visitar yo entonces.

  89. hogan scarpe says:

    Tremendous things here. I’m very glad to see your article. Appreciate it for looking towards contact you. Would you like to kindly drop me a mail?

  90. Kala Arendt says:

    You made some nice points there.

  91. Krylo says:

    Looks like college research here. I can see you probably did a lot of hard work and so i appreciate that fact. This is quality content.

  92. Xander says:

    This blog is outstanding, informative and most interesting. I have thoroughly seeing the sights.

  93. Lieselotte Slomkowski says:

    Great write-up, I am normal visitor of your blog, and I’m going to be a regular visitor for a long time.

  94. Pettey says:

    Again you come forth with great article.

  95. Mungle says:

    Thanks a lot, I’ve truly been on the lookout for something like this for a while now, and your blog is the best I’ve discovered.

  96. ghd uk says:

    You’ve got an excellent blog there continue. I’ll be watching out for more posts.

  97. Rinkenberger says:

    I was considering a bit of your articles here and i believe this internet site is very informative! Continue posting.

  98. pepejulio says:

    I am glad to be one of many visitors on this outstanding site (:, thanks for posting.

  99. Lamonica Kerlin says:

    Very great post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve truly loved surfing around your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing on your feed and I hope you write once more very soon!

  100. Kappel Mann says:

    After read several of your blog articles, I truly enjoy your style of blogging. I bookmarked it and will be checking back soon.

  101. Detroit Lion says:

    The excellent current posts keep me coming here several times over. Thanks to you.

  102. Knoeppel says:

    This weblog is superior. It consists of everything I wanted to see.

  103. Pangilinan says:

    The blog was absolutely fantastic! Lots of great information and inspiration, both of which we all need!

  104. Eastwood says:

    After researching a few of the weblog posts on your web site now, and I truly like your way of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark web site checklist and will be checking again soon.

  105. Casto says:

    Greetings, this is a genuinely absorbing internet blog and I have cherished learning various from the content and posts.

  106. Sueda says:

    Wow, good quality post.

  107. brownie says:

    If conceivable, would you mind updating your blog with more information? It is very helpful to me.
    Good post. I learn something from blogs everyday. I learn from other writers. I’d like to use some some of this on my blog whether or not you don’t mind. Natually I’ll offer you a link in your internet blog. Thanks for sharing.

  108. Smigel says:

    Oj, thx mate! I enjoy this.

  109. Wow, marvelous weblog format! How long have you ever been running a blog for? you make blogging look easy. The total look of your website is magnificent, as neatly as the content!

Comments are closed.