Regeneration of the Doctor

One of the reasons that the highly successful TV series, Doctor Who has lasted over 50 years is an ingenious plot devise: Regeneration. Not only does it allow for the replacement of the actor, but also injects new life into the show, with a new take on the character.

Each subsequent Doctor is the same, but different, keeping the show familiar and comfortable, yet fresh and exciting as it forges ahead on its long time journey. With an altered personality as well as a revamped look, and wardrobe, the Doctor takes on a variety of new challenges while continuing to grow as a character.

 

 

The regeneration process is not completely understood, but that is a good thing because it leaves room for imagination. The Trill of Star Trek come to mind wherein the old symbiote inhabits the new body of the host, and they share memories and personality traits. But that is not the case with a Time Lord. There is no symbiosis, only one individual and one body.

Meanwhile, a blogger noted that, on average, the actor portraying The Doctor has gotten younger, like Mork from Ork. With that in mind, it would make sense that a Time Lord can regenerate only 12 times. Unless, of course, he takes over someone else’s body, like when the Master took over the body of Tremas in The Keeper of Traken. That is somewhat reminiscent of the Goa’uld of Stargate, but again, without the symbiote.

So, how does the Doctor get a new body? Is it a form of reincarnation – the eternal birth-death cycle where a soul moves from body to body?  Perhaps not.  After all, the new Time Lord is still an adult, still in possession of all of his or her memories.  Patrick Troughton, the 2nd Doctor said it was like a caterpillar turning into butterfly.

So, why the personality change?  Well, after Jon Pertwee, the 3rd Doctor, turned into Tom Baker, the 4th Doctor,  in Planet of the Spiders, it was explained that the Doctor’s brain cells had been shaken up in the process.  Since the Doctor is also becoming zanier, that is easy to believe.

But still, there are many unanswered questions:  What about the 10th Doctor’s Meta-Crisis? (Journey’s End) You know, the Doctor Donna and the half human Time Lord who went off with Rose to the parallel universe????

Does the Tardis play a part in the regeneration process??  Why didn’t The Doctor’s Daughter get a new body??

What about the Doctor’s Morbius regenerations?  (The Brain of Morbius)  And where does Ruth fit in? (Fugitive of the Judoon) And why was Romana able to choose her body after trying on a few??  (Destiny of the Daleks)

While regeneration is a good thing, it can also be quite sad. When the 4th Doctor became the 5th, in Logopolis, it seemed so lonely. Sure, he had 3 companions with him, but he had just met two of them, and we’re not really sure if he even liked the third. The same for the 1st, 5th, and 6th Doctors, whose companions were recent additions.

The 7th Doctor was alone when he regenerated into the 8th in the Paul McGann film; the 2nd Doctor was sent into the vortex, leaving his companions behind; and when David Tennant, the 10th Doctor regenerated in the End of Time, he, too was without company, as he wept, “I don’t want to go.” However, he did have some time before hand to say “goodbye” to all of his sidekicks.

Nevertheless, the 3rd,  9th, and 11th Doctors, were lucky enough to have their beloved companions by their sides.

We now know that the 8th Doctor had help from the Sisters of Karn.  He was able to choose to be the War Doctor, who, in turn, had two of his other incarnations nearby when he regenerated into the (9th Doctor).  All muddying up the numbering as we knew it.

Some incarnations last longer than others, depending more on the actors, than on the dangers faced by the Doctor.

In this recently discovered long lost episode, for example, the Doctor actually regenerates three times !!  From Rowan Atkinson… to Richard E. Grant… to Hugh Grant… to…. Joanna Lumley !!!

So, the Moral of the Story is that, whether we are pleased or not when one actor replaces another, we must remember that, it is the Doctor who lives on  !!!

About Łowiczanka

I'm a former dancer who loves all things Polish, especially the music... whether it be folk songs and dances from Poland, or polka music from Chicago. Oh, yes, and I love pierogi !
This entry was posted in Doctor Who, Sci Fi and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Regeneration of the Doctor

  1. how are you!This was a really wonderful Topics!
    I come from itlay, I was fortunate to find your theme in wordpress
    Also I learn a lot in your theme really thanks very much i will come later

  2. John Carter says:

    In passing you mention symbiosis. Well in the Two Doctors, he discusses the simbiosis between the Doctor and the Tardis, making him able to fly it…. so there is a symbiotic relationship going on here!

  3. JMark says:

    The 2nd Doctor did not have his companions with him when he regenerated. He was sent into a vortex by the Time Lords not knowing what his fate would be. He regenerated alone with no previous companion to witness it much like the 10th Doctor regenerating into the 11th Doctor.

  4. gospelx says:

    I’ve recently read that they are removing the max number of regenerations the Doctor can have in his lifetime. In an upcoming episode of the Sarah Jane Adventures, featuring the 11th Doctor, someone will ask the Doctor how many times he can regenerate. He will casually mention that there is no limit.

  5. Joe says:

    There are so many questions regarding regeneration that I think that’s one of the aspects that makes it so fun/useful: the lack of hard-and-fast rules makes it extremely flexible, allowing the writers to bend events to their needs. I take a stab at answering a number of questions you raise here: http://wp.me/pFs3T-QA

    Here’s another point: Until the Russell T. Davies era, no two regenerations were ever alike! The visual was always quite different. I think the most similar were the transitions from first to second and third to fourth (leaving aside K’anpo’s influence).

  6. Luxury Self says:

    Who was it that once said, “Even God cannot change the past..”.

  7. ROV says:

    When you were writing this post, you must have been thinking, “I do not agree with what you say but I will defend to the death your right to say it..”.

  8. U Value says:

    You’re motivating me so much, just like when I read, “She is a friend of my mind… The pieces I am she gather them and give them back to me in all the right order..”.

  9. winter says:

    Every Englishman loves a pedigree. or might possibly He deserves Paradise who makes his companions laugh.

  10. In Zieman says:

    a good source

  11. Karen Millen says:

    Nice read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch! “He who walks in another’s tracks leaves no footprints.” by Joan Brannon.

  12. Insight says:

    Some really rattling work on behalf of the owner of this website. Great written content .

  13. Getts says:

    I regard something genuinely interesting about your web blog so I saved to favorites .

  14. Gayle Lishman says:

    I got what you mean , thanks for posting this. I am thankful to find this website through google

  15. 5.1 says:

    whoah this blog is excellent i love studying your posts. Stay up the good paintings! You realize, lots of persons are looking round for this info, you could help them greatly.

  16. Fieser says:

    Hi, I just wanted to say thanks for the post above and for Regeneration of the Doctor | Do Góry 2. It is an incredible read.

  17. Seo says:

    Howdy. Intelligent points.. now why didn’t I consider these?

  18. Timberland says:

    Very interesting information! Perfect just what I was searching for!

  19. Susy Arty says:

    Very clear website , appreciate it for this post.

  20. Supra says:

    Keep up the great work, I read few blog posts on this website and I conceive that your blog is really interesting and has circles of excellent info.

  21. Schnakengerg says:

    Perfect work you have done, this site is really cool with superb info .

  22. Wolfinbarger says:

    I really like your writing style, superb info, appreciate it for putting up 😀 .

  23. Mashiah says:

    I’ve been absent for some time, but now I remember why I used to love this website. Thanks, I will try and check back more often. How frequently you update your site?

  24. Florida says:

    Thank you very much for the info

  25. Ginger Bolado says:

    Keep up the excellent work , I read few blog posts on this internet site and I think that your web site is real interesting and holds circles of good information.

  26. Insight Tours says:

    Loving the information on this internet site , you have done outstanding job on the posts .

  27. Nolao Goodrich says:

    Thanks, I have recently been seeking for facts about this topic for ages and yours is the best I’ve discovered so far.

  28. Robert Karam says:

    Thanks for an amazing post, may examine your others posts.

  29. Cedric Bartlette says:

    I just want to say I’m beginner to blogging and absolutely enjoyed your web-site. Probably I’m likely to bookmark your website . You amazingly have superb article content. Bless you for sharing with us your blog.

  30. Ελληνική τύπος says:

    Bookmarking your blog !

  31. Rochin Key says:

    Enjoyed these fun facts about the Doctor’s Regeneration.

  32. Ruagkf96 says:

    Thank you for this magnificent article. I’m a big fan of Doctor Who.

  33. Manso says:

    Interesting. Great info.

  34. There was a time whenever blog reading became a big pastime of mine, however I simply got bored after a while. These days, I simply have a tendency to look at the pictures and the news headlines in addition the subheadings, but stumbling right here makes me study your post, and I was thankful.
    A lot of good information about Doctor Who, a TV series that I love.

  35. Danika says:

    I have been looking for info on Doctor Who that included all of his regenerations. Thanks for this post.

  36. Great article, thanks for the information about Doctor Who. I love that series. Can’t wait for the next season to begin 🙂

  37. I love Doctor Who, and even though I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest, your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later on. All the best

  38. Catherine says:

    What’s up, after reading this amazing paragraph i am as well happy to share my familiarity here with mates. Catherine

Comments are closed.