Poland 5

Having identified the restaurant with the best pierogi, and having located a booth with incredible placki (potato pancakes), I was still being challenged in the search for my favorite ice cream, Advocaat likier jajeczny.  That’s because all the ice cream stands changed their selection every day.

Of course, the real reason I was spending 11 days in Zakopane was the International Highland Music Festival.  There were musicians and dancers from Mongolia and Montenegro, Slovakia, and Switzerland, and everywhere else you can imagine, but I was mostly interested in the performers from the Polish highlands. I love to hear them sing in “white voice”, playing their fiddles and cellos, and I love listening to them speak in the dialect of the Górale subculture.

See also: Poland 1, Poland 2, Poland 3, Poland 4, Poland 6.

 

 

2005-12-29-28 2005-12-29-30 2005-12-29-32 2005-12-29-36 cropped 2005-12-29-38 2005-12-29-73x

About Łowiczanka

I'm a former dancer who loves all things Polish, especially the music... whether it be folk songs and dances from Poland, or polka music from Chicago. Oh, yes, and I love pierogi !
This entry was posted in Photography, Poland, Polish Music, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Poland 5

  1. Pingback: Poland 4 | Do Góry

  2. Pingback: Poland 3 | Do Góry

  3. Pingback: Poland 2 | Do Góry

  4. Pingback: Poland 6 | Do Góry

  5. Pingback: Poland 1 | Do Góry

  6. Grace Xuzyxis says:

    These are my favorite types of travelers, because they effortlessly fill you with energy and happiness.

Comments are closed.