Poland 6

There I was, sitting in the shadow of the Royal Castle on Wawel Hill, gazing out over the Wisła River, and eating pierogi.  It just doesn’t get any better than this!!!

I was in Kraków for the city’s 750th anniversary celebration, and, as always, PAT Tours booked for me a hotel at this wonderful location.  A nice walk to the Rynek put me in the center of the celebration.

Most of this trip, however, was spent around Warsaw, visiting friends, including former dancers from the Mazowsze Polish Folk Song and Dance Ensemble.  I also was privileged to travel with Mazowsze to see two of their performances outside of Warsaw.  As always, their concerts touched my heart.

See also: Poland 1, Poland 2, Poland 3, Poland 4, Poland 5.

 

IMG_0802 x

 

 

IMG_0795 IMG_0778IMG_0781 IMG_0784 xIMG_0908_edited-1 x IMG_0792 IMG_0868

About Łowiczanka

I'm a former dancer who loves all things Polish, especially the music... whether it be folk songs and dances from Poland, or polka music from Chicago. Oh, yes, and I love pierogi !
This entry was posted in Mazowsze, Photography, Poland, Polish Music, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Poland 6

  1. Pingback: Poland 1 | Do Góry

  2. Pingback: Poland 2 | Do Góry

  3. Pingback: Poland 5 | Do Góry

  4. Pingback: Poland 4 | Do Góry

  5. Pingback: Poland 3 | Do Góry

  6. Jurek says:

    Droga Lowiczanko,

    Greetings from Egypt. Thank you for your great photo essays on Poland and things Polish. Can you write more about Polish music?

    Pozdrawiam,

    J.

    • Łowiczanka says:

      Hi Jurek,
      I hope to have more blogs a bout Polish music soon.
      I really want to write about Góralski music, but cannot find You Tube videos that I really like, so that will have to wait.
      I am also working on the relationship between Polish folk music and American Polkas, but that is a big project !! so it may also take a while.
      In the meantime, check out this website:
      http://polkamemories.com/wherepolkascomefrom

  7. Jurek says:

    Great pictures and stories. Please write more about Polish music.

  8. I was happy to stumble upon your blog and to see some of your pictures from Krakow, I believe that if I could only visit one city in Poland again, it would be Krakow–it is a most beautiful city. Next time I am there, I hope again to visit many of the sites you have pictures of. I’ve been to the Kukiennice, the Mariacki, and ul. Szpitalna…. my one visit there was way too short. Thanks for sharing. I have my pictures from Krakow here: http://poland.leonkonieczny.com/images/2010PolandTour/11-12%20Krak%C3%B3w/index.html, and wrote a bit about my (way too short) time in Krakow here: http://poland.leonkonieczny.com/blog/?p=140.

Comments are closed.